Børge Ousland has written numerous books about his expeditions, that enable the reader to partake in the adventure. Each of them are richly illustrated with photographs and maps.

  • Expedition handbook (2014, Norwegian version so far).
  • Northern passage (2011, Norwegian and English edition).
  • The Great Polar Journey – In the Footsteps of Nansen, 2009.
  • Solo durch ewiges eis (German translation) 2007
  • Winter Without Mercy, 2006
  • Il Solitairo dei poli (Italian Translation) 2005
  • Skrubbsulten, 2005
  • Alone Across the North Pole, 2001 – (Preface by Reinhold Messner)
  • Alone across Antarctica, 1997 – (Preface by Sir Edmund Hillary)
  • Alone to the North Pole, 1994
  • Umanak, 1987

Signed editions of these books are available through our online Shop.


Book Awards

Børge Ousland’s latest book, The Great Polar Journey: In the Footsteps of Nansen, was awarded First Price in the category Adventure Travel at Banff Mountain Book Festival 2009. The reasons cited by the jury were:

“In this compelling narrative of his 2007 expedition recreating the original route pioneered by Nansen and Johansen in 1895 through Franz Joseph Land in their attempt to reach the North Pole, Børge Ousland does a terrific job at an inherently complex task. Interweaving accounts of Nansen’s journey, general polar history, and his personal expedition, Ousland is a crisp writer with the added benefit of being arguably the contemporary authority on polar exploration. The result is alternately fascinating, delightful, insightful, inspiring, and frank and the stunning photography is another plus. Ousland doesn’t shy from providing graphic details into the physical challenges of a polar expedition (an explorer on an early American expedition slept next to the body of his dead comrade for three months until the ground softened for burial) or probing uncomfortable personal truths about the pull of expeditions versus personal lives back home, and what we gain versus what we give up in modern lives. The result is a tome that soars for the reader on many levels.”

– Susan Schwartz